May 3, 2018 e-Cursor: See Hall of Fame video, photos; council OKs re-accreditation; alums have hand in Pulitzer; Gyorke, Finley awards.

Nearly 200 people listened to inspiring speeches as the University of Arizona School of Journalism inducted 14 individuals and two couples into its inaugural Hall of Fame last month.

A surprise guest, UA President Robert Robbins, attended the induction brunch and two-hour ceremony at the Center for Creative Photography.

"Absolutely one of the most inspiring events I have attended. Congratulations. I am so impressed with your school," Robbins said in a note to David Cuillier, school director.

Watch the video, filmed by student Micheal Romero, and view a gallery of photos shot by student Nick Smallwood. In addition, check out the 36-page program, pre-ceremony slideshow and testimonials for each inductee. For more coverage, go to

Tears flowed as the school posthumously honored Donald W. Carson ('54 alum), Hugh and Jan Harelson (Hugh, '52), Douglas D. Martin, Sherman R. Miller 3rd, Donald and Lou Edith "Luda" Soldwedel, and Bill Walsh ('84). Family members and friends spoke on their behalf.

The rest of the class honored were: Gilbert H. Bailon ('81), Nancy J. Cleeland ('77), Richard H. Gilman ('72), Florence G. Graves ('76), Savannah C. Guthrie ('93), Jane R. Kay ('61), Lynne Olson ('69), Mort L. Rosenblum ('65), Jacqueline E. Sharkey ('72) and Frank O. Sotomayor ('66).

Guthrie couldn't attend the ceremony, but the NBC "Today" show co-anchor taped a speech for the audience, and her mother, Nancy Guthrie, accepted her plaque.

You still can make a donation in honor of the inductees through the school's general gift fund or specific funds named in their honor. The money will go to student reporting projects, travel and scholarships.

Alums are welcome to view the school's perpetual Hall of Fame plaque on the third floor of the Marshall Building, 845 N. Park Ave.

The inductees were among dozens nominated. The other candidates will be considered for the next class. Nominees may include alumni (whether they graduated or not) and former employees of the school, and should have made a significant contribution to journalism and society.

To submit a nomination, describe in 350 words or less why the candidate is worthy. Email the letter to Mike Chesnick, outreach coordinator, or mail it to UA School of Journalism / P.O. Box 210158B / Tucson, AZ  85721-0158.

• Photos (clockwise, from top): 2018 class; siblings Mort Rosenblum and Jane Kay; Richard Gilman; UA President Robert Robbins and Jane Swicegood; Frank Sotomayor; and Jacqueline Sharkey.


Thursday, May 10

"Just Desserts" student awards event, noon to
2 p.m., Arizona Historical Society, 949 E. Second St. Sandwiches, desserts, refreshments served.

Friday, May 11

UA commencement ceremony, 7:30 p.m.

Monday, Aug. 20

Fall classes begin

Friday, Oct. 12

Zenger Award for Press Freedom dinner (winner, time, place to be announced soon).

• The school's Spring 2018 bilingual magazine focuses on the status of women. Read it here.

• The school's latest science magazine focuses on conservation at the Reid Park Zoo and globally. Read it here


Bick Lucas, retired UA journalism professor and Denver Post sports editor, dies at 88. Read his obit.

• Prof. Celeste González de Bustamante wins the faculty research grant from the school's Center for Border & Global Journalism. Read story.

and faculty kudos

e-Cursor archive

It's official: School is re-accredited

The national Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications 
unanimously approved the School of Journalism's re-accreditation on April 27 in Chicago.

In late January, a site team lauded the school for its experienced faculty, tight-knit students, out-of-class opportunities and strong internship program.

The school has been nationally accredited every six years since 1964, but this is the first time in 30 years that it has earned re-accreditation by passing all nine of the key standards of compliance.

"It's a testament to the great work by faculty, staff, students and alumni," said David Cuillier, school director.

Read full story
Re-accreditation page

Master's grad Gaber has hand in Pulitzer

Hannah Gaber, a 2016 dual master's graduate in journalism and Middle Eastern and North Africa Studies, helped the Arizona Republic win the 2018 Pulitzer Prize for explanatory reporting.

Gaber produced the 
podcasts, contributed video and audio, and organized images for “The Wall: Unknown stories, Unintended consequences,” a 2017 border report produced by a team of journalists from the Republic and USA Today Network.

Three other people with school ties contributed to the project: copy editor Becca Dyer ('85); reporter and data analyst Rob O'Dell, a former adjunct instructor; and John D'Anna ('83), Republic Page 1 editor. 

• Read full story on our website or at UANews.

Gyorke, Finley awards announced

Daniel Young-Miller won the school's spring 2018 Drew Gyorke Memorial Fund Photo Contest for his skateboarder image, while Betty Hurd captured the Mark Finley Gold Pen Award as the spring 2018 best beginning news writer.

In the Gyorke contest, Aly Cantor took second and Alexandra Pere finished third. The photos and nine others from Prof. Kim Newton's 203 class will hang in the hallway in front of his office (Marshall 327).

In the Finley contest, Trent Anderson finished second and Eva Halvax placed third as 16 JOUR 205 students wrote a deadline story after interviewing Jim Critchley, retired Tucson Fire chief.

Read Gyorke story.
Read Finley story.

Follow on Twitter | Friend on Facebook  | Journalism website
Contact us at (520) 621-7556 or e-mail us at
Our mailing address is: 845 N. Park Ave. P.O. Box 210158B, Tucson, AZ 85721-0158 

Donate Now
unsubscribe from this list | update subscription preferences