June 4, 2018 e-Cursor: Zenger Award winner; students honored at Just Desserts; alums capture Press Club awards; summer interns. 

For her fearless dedication in exposing government corruption in Mexico, journalist Carmen Aristegui
has been named the 2018 winner of the John Peter and Anna Catherine Zenger Award for Press Freedom by the UA School of Journalism.

Aristegui will be honored Friday, Oct. 12, at a public reception and dinner at 5:30 p.m. at the UA Student Union North Ballroom, 1303 E. University Blvd. Tickets ($85 each) or tables of 10 ($1,000 each) are available now through the UA Foundation at this secure site, with part of the proceeds going toward student reporting projects and travel.

In Mexico, where nearly 100 journalists have been murdered or have disappeared in the past decade, Aristegui has spent 20 years reporting on suspected cases of high-level corruption as a radio host and as the anchor of a show on CNN en Español.

She put pressure on the nation’s elite when her website, Aristegui Noticias, reported an alleged conflict of interest involving the wife of President Enrique Peña Nieto and a government contractor in the purchase of a $7 million house. During the scandal, two members of Aristegui’s investigative team and her teen son, Emilio, allegedly were targeted with spyware. In 2015, she was fired by MVS Radio for helping launch MexicoLeaks, an online platform modeled after Wikileaks that encourages citizens to anonymously post documents of public interest, and expose government and corporate misconduct.

 “Your decades long work in journalism, particularly as an intrepid and tireless investigator of government malfeasance makes you deserving of this award,” UA School of Journalism Director David Cuillier said. “Our faculty was particularly struck by the way you have continued to inform the public about corruption on all levels of government, and how you have not relented, despite having been fired several times and after you and your son were spied upon.”

“In addition, you continue to denounce the current lack of freedom of expression in Mexico. … That is what journalism is all about.”

Since 1954, the Zenger award has honored those who have made extraordinary contributions to press freedom and the people’s right to know around the world, including the late Washington Post publisher Katharine Graham, Rocío Gallegos Rodriguez and Sandra Rodríguez Nieto of El Diario de Juarez, Kathy Gannon from The Associated Press, Tom Arviso from the Navajo Times, and most recently Dean Baquet, executive editor of The New York Times.

“For me it is a source of pride that the jury of the prestigious Zenger Award has decided to recognize the work of a Mexican journalist for its 2018 edition,” said Aristegui, 54. “The history of this important prize has been a great encouragement and incentive for the work of journalists and a fundamental impetus for the exercise of freedom of expression in the world.”

Fortune magazine named Aristegui one of the World’s 50 Greatest Leaders in 2017. She was born in Mexico City and graduated from Mexico’s Universidad Autónoma with a degree in communication sciences.

Read full story.
More information on Zenger Award
Past Zenger Award winners


Monday, Aug. 20
Fall classes begin

Friday, Oct. 12

Zenger Award for Press Freedom reception and dinner, 5:30 p.m., UA Student Union North Ballroom, 1303 E. University Blvd. Tickets

• If you missed our June 1 e-blast, read about Carol Schwalbe being named the school's next director.

Watch the school's spring 2018 broadcast, with co-anchors Bria Fonteno (left) and Carmen Valencia.

Read the school's spring 2018 bilingual magazine on the status of women.

Read the school's science magazine on conservation at the Reid Park Zoo and globally.

 Read this story by L.A. Times reporter Brittny Mejia ('14) on Matthew ​Whitaker, who plans to study journalism at UA and was reunited with a woman who found him buried alive as a baby.

and faculty kudos
e-Cursor archive

Suriano earns top student award

Jessica SurianoErik KolsrudJordan Williams and Emily Ellis captured top honors May 10 at the UA School of Journalism’s 52nd Just Desserts student awards celebration at the Arizona Historical Society.

Suriano (above, with Prof. Nancy Sharkey) won the Philip Mangelsdorf Award for Outstanding Newsperson of the Year. Kolsrud, a Don Bolles Fellow, won the Sherman R. Miller 3rd Award for Outstanding Senior. Williams took the Brewster P. Campbell Award for Outstanding Junior. Ellis was named Outstanding Graduate Student.

Adjunct instructor 
Shannon Conner, former sports editor at the Arizona Daily Star, won the Hugh and Jan Harelson Excellence in Teaching Award.

Full story and winners
• Just Desserts program
• Video of ceremony
• Photo gallery 1 and  2

Press Club honors Blust, UA alums

Led by Kendal Blust, those with UA School of Journalism ties captured 15 first-place awards at the 2017 Arizona Press Club contest on May 21.

Blust, a 2016 M.A. grad, won in state and community short-form writing, community education reporting, community social issues reporting and community government reporting for the Nogales International. She is now working at KJZZ Phoenix public radio's new bureau in Hermosillo, Sonora.

Other first-place winners were J.D. Molinary, Caitlin Schmidt ('14), Mikayla Mace ('17 M.A.), Mike Christy ('11), Hank Stephenson, Glenn Gullickson and former adjunct instructors Stephanie Innes, Megan Kimble and Rob O'Dell — and the Arizona Republic staff, which included Hannah Gaber ('16 M.A.), Rebecca Dyer ('85) and O'Dell.

Full story

Summer interns hit ground running 

Nearly 40 students have summer internships or apprenticeships, including Maritza Cruz (top, left), who is a video intern at the San Jose Mercury News and Bay Area News Group.

Cruz, a May grad, is part of the Chips Quinn Scholars program.

"I hope to bring new and innovative stories to the (Mercury News) team this summer," says Cruz.

Jamie Maese is working on the MSNBC show, "The Last Word with Lawrence O'Donnell," after being awarded the National Association of Hispanic Journalists (NAHJ) Summer Fellowship position at NBC News in New York.

Seven students are apprentices at the Arizona Daily Star. 

Full list of UA J-school summer interns
UA Chips Quinn list

Follow on Twitter | Friend on Facebook  | Journalism website
Contact us at (520) 621-7556 or e-mail us at
Our mailing address is: 845 N. Park Ave. P.O. Box 210158B, Tucson, AZ 85721-0158 

Donate Now
unsubscribe from this list | update subscription preferences