July 9, 2019, e-Cursor: Teens learn journalism through Carson workshop; Murrow Award winners; Star hires more UA J-school grads; Zenger tickets.

(Top) Kristen Bia flies a drone with help from Professor Michael McKisson. (Bottom left) Isari Martinez shoots video of a Gila monster. (Bottom right, from left) Kneeling: Amanda Mourelatos, Emma Schneider, Kenya Sykes, Savannah Peña, Isabela Gamez, Christiana Lincowski, Victoria Grijalva. Standing: Isari Martinez, Elijah Perez, Mendrel Fayuant, Odalys Martinez, Mireya Borgen, Kevin Cazares, Jacquelyn Gutierrez, Faith Chadwick, Kristen Bia. 


Focusing on health and wellness, 16 teens studied reporting, photography, multimedia and media ethics during the weeklong 2019 Donald W. Carson Journalism Diversity Workshop for Arizona High School Students last month.

The program, sponsored primarily by the Dow Jones News Fund and the University of Arizona Office of Inclusion and Multicultural Engagement, has been offered at the UA School of Journalism since 1981.

Students this year produced stories, photos and multimedia projects for the 12-page Chronicle 
newspaper and a website, Students tackled tough subjects, including abortion rights, immigration and the border, sexual assault, mental illness, climate change and vaping.

“Frankly, I was blown away by their story ideas,” said John D'Anna (’83), a mentor and an Arizona Republic reporter. “... I would push for a bunch of their ideas to be on our front page at the Republic.”

The workshop, founded by Carson, was renamed in his honor after he died in 2018. Carson, a revered UA journalism professor and former department head, was one of the early leaders in helping diversify the nation’s newsrooms.

The school welcomed high school students Kristen Bia (Ganado), Mireya Borgen (Queen Creek Casteel), Kevin Cazares (Pueblo), Faith Chadwick (BASIS Peoria), Mendrel Fayuant (Sells Baboquivari), Isabela Gamez (Tucson High),
Victoria Grijalva (Douglas), Jacquelyn Gutierrez 
(Pueblo), Christiana Lincowski (Catalina Foothills),
 Isari Martinez (Pueblo), Odalys Martinez 
(Douglas), Amanda Mourelatos (Sahuaro), 
Savannah Peña (Tucson High), Elijah Perez 
(Pueblo), Emma Schneider (Gregory School) and Kenya Sykes (Vail Academy).

Students worked with two writing coaches — Professor Susan Knight and D'Anna — workshop director Andrés Domínguez and mentors Pascal Albright, Jane Bendickson, Jamie Donnelly, 
Jackie Gonzales, Alana Minkler, Alexis Richardson, Madeline Richardson 
and John Soriano. Albright, Bendickson, Domínguez, Gonzales and Madeline Richardson are graduates of the workshop.
“These students are passionate about telling stories about the world they live in,” Knight said.

J-school alum Frank Sotomayor (’66) opened the workshop in the Marshall Building reading room with an inspirational talk about journalism and diversity. Sotomayor told students and their families how he began his career at the Tucson High newspaper before working for the Arizona Daily Star and the Los Angeles Times, where he co-edited a series on Latinos that won the 1984 Pulitzer Prize for public service.

“I believe in the role of journalism,” Sotomayor said. “Not only to tell stories, but to investigate, to be the watchdog.”

• 2019 Chronicle issue  • 2019 workshop website
• Photo gallery  • Closing ceremony video
• Domínguez radio interview and Star column
Full story on workshop

Monday, Aug. 26
Fall semester begins.

Friday, Sept. 20
Zenger Award for Press Freedom reception and lunch, 11:30 a.m., Marriott University Park, honoring Christiane Amanpour of CNN. Tickets and story
Friday, Oct. 11
UA Presidential Scholar and former chief White House photographer David Hume Kennerly will be joined by fellow Pulitzer Prize winner and historian Jon Meacham, 7 p.m., for a free talk at Centennial Hall. More info

• For her thesis "Politicking While Black," Zeina Cabrera-Peterson (’18 M.A.) won a top student paper award in the Minorities and Communication Division of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (conference details).


• Tampa Bay Times reporter Bethany Barnes (’13 M.A.) is one of six journalists elected to the Investigative Reporters & Editors board. Read more.
• Maritza Dominguez (’17) is an audio producer for the Arizona Republic and for podcasts called Valley 101 and The Gaggle.
• Tirion Morris (’18) is the nightlife reporter on the food desk at the Republic and 
• Christianna Silva (’17) is editor of social impact at MTV News (Viacom) in New York City.
• Jamie Verwys (’18) is the new web editor at the Tucson Weekly.

Student/alumni and 
faculty and staff kudos
More news
e-Cursor archive

Alums, Prof. share Murrow awards 

Mariana Dale (’14, left) 
and Sandra Westdahl 
(’12) had a hand in winning national Edward R. Murrow Awards, along with Professor Michael McKisson.

Dale, a reporter for KJZZ-FM in Phoenix, helped the NPR-affiliated radio station take first place in continuing coverage on the Arizona teacher strike.

Westdahl produced Arizona Public Media's “Where dreams die,” which placed first in feature reporting and told about migrants who've perished while crossing the desert. She’s now a video producer for the College of Agriculture & Life Sciences.

McKisson provided the drone photography for the story. Arlene Islas was the videographer.

• List of Murrow winners

UA J-school grads land jobs at Star

The Arizona Daily Star has hired a host of recent UA J-school alums.

Alex Devoid (’17 M.A.) is  a data/investigative reporter for the Star after finishing a fellowship as an environmental reporter at the Arizona Republic.

Devoid joins Brenna Bailey (’18), Eddie Celaya (’19), Jasmine Demers (’19 M.A.), 
Stephanie Casanova (’14), Shaq Davis (’18), 
Andrew Koleski (’18), Danyelle Khmara (’17) Gloria Knott (’18), 
and Justin Spears (’17).

Many other UA grads are at the Star, including Editor Jill Jorden Spitz (’88) and Hipolito Corella (’90), a senior editor.

The school's apprentices this summer are Ty HudsonMark LawsonVanessa OntiverosGriffin Riley and Jesse Tellez.

Buy Zenger tickets to see Amanpour 

Individual tickets and tables are still available for the school’s 2019 Zenger Award for Press Freedom luncheon honoring CNN journalist 
Christiane Amanpour.

Amanpour, whose reporting on violence and human rights abuses in Iraq, Bosnia and Syria has earned her worldwide respect, will be honored Friday, Sept. 20, at a public reception at 11:30 a.m. and lunch at 12:30 p.m. at the Marriott University Park Hotel, 880 E. Second St.

Go to a secure UA Foundation site to buy tax-deductible tickets ($100 each) or tables of 10 ($1,000 each).

Proceeds will go toward student reporting projects and travel.

More details
Zenger Award history

Follow on Twitter | Friend on Facebook  | Journalism website
Contact us at (520) 621-7556 or email us at
Our mailing address is 845 N. Park Ave., P.O. Box 210158B, Tucson, AZ 85721-0158.

Donate Now
unsubscribe from this list | update subscription preferences