Oct. 3, 2017 e-Cursor: Hall of Fame class announced; Zenger dinner tickets; Kolsrud named Bolles Fellow; NY Times critic at Loft series.

Couples in center: Top, Hugh and Jan Harelson; and Luda and Donald Soldwedel.

Clockwise, from top left: Gilbert Bailon, Don Carson, Nancy Cleeland, Richard Gilman, Florence Graves, Savannah Guthrie, Jane Kay, Doug Martin, Sherman Miller, Lynne Olson, Mort Rosenblum, Jacqueline Sharkey, Frank Sotomayor and Bill Walsh.



From Pulitzer Prize winners to trailblazing faculty, 14 people and two couples will be inducted into the inaugural University of Arizona School of Journalism Hall of Fame for their significant achievements and service to journalism and society.

The first class includes Doug MartinSherman MillerDon Carson and Jacqueline Sharkey, former directors of the school, which began in January 1951 as the Department of Journalism.

Other inductees are UA alums Gilbert Bailon (’81, St. Louis Post-Dispatch editor), Nancy Cleeland (’77, former Los Angeles Times reporter), Richard Gilman (’72, former Boston Globe publisher), Florence Graves (’76, Common Cause founding editor), Savannah Guthrie (’93, NBC “Today Show” co-anchor), Jane Kay (’61, environmental reporter), Lynne Olson (’69, author/journalist), Mort Rosenblum (’65, Associated Press), Frank Sotomayor (’66, former L.A. Times editor/reporter) and Bill Walsh (’84, Washington Post copy chief) — along with major supporters of the school, Hugh and Jan Harelson, and Donald and Lou Edith “Luda” Soldwedel.

Carson (’51) and Sharkey (’72) are also alums, and Rosenblum is a current UA professor. Martin, Miller, Walsh, and the Harelsons and Soldwedels will be honored posthumously. 

“These champions of journalism have made the program what it is today, and they deserve to be honored for their incredible contributions,” said David Cuillier, current director of the School of Journalism. “We are all better off because of their hard work and dedication.”

Click HERE to view short bios of the inductees, along with special funds established in their names that supporters can strengthen.

The class of 16 is scheduled to be honored on April 7, 2018, in Tucson at a venue to be announced later. Look for ticket info at

The inductees were among dozens nominated. The other candidates will automatically be considered for the next class in 2019. To submit a nomination, describe in 350 words or less why the candidate is deserving and email outreach coordinator Mike Chesnick, or mail to UA School of Journalism/P.O. Box 210158B/Tucson, AZ 85721-0158.

• To give in an inductees' name, click on this secure UA Foundation web page.


Thursday, Oct. 5

All Clubs/Faculty mixer, 6-8 p.m., Magpies Pizza, 605 N. Fourth Ave. 

Sunday, Oct. 8

"Bill Cunningham New York," 4 p.m., The Loft Cinema, with NY Times critic Guy Trebay, screenwriter Will Conroy. • Tickets

Saturday, Oct. 14

Family Weekend mixer, 10:30 a.m., Marshall 312.

Thursday, Oct. 19

SBS Downtown Series interview with New York Times Executive Editor Dean Baquet, "Redefining Journalism in the Post-Truth Era," Fox Tucson Theatre, 17 W. Congress St., 6:30 p.m.
• Free tickets.

Friday, Oct. 20

Zenger Award for Press Freedom Dinner honoring NY Times' Dean Baquet, 5:30 p.m. reception, 6:30 p.m. dinner, Westward Look Resort, 245 E. Ina Road. • Tickets. Story

Saturday, Oct. 28

Homecoming mixer, 10:30 a.m., Marshall 312. Chat with other alums and tour the J-school. Email Mike Chesnick if you can go.

Sunday, Dec. 3

"Obit," 2 p.m., Loft Cinema, with NY Time obit writer Bruce Weber.

Friday, Dec. 15

Winter commencement,
2 p.m., Centennial Hall

• J-school alums, students win awards from Arizona Newspapers Association. • Story
More news: Click here, and please "like" our Facebook page.

Buy Zenger tickets, meet Times' Baquet 

Tickets are still available to see the school honor Dean Baquet, executive editor of The New York Times, with the 2017 Zenger Award for Press Freedom on Oct. 20 at the Westward Look.

You can meet Baquet at the 5:30 p.m. reception, or ask him a question after the 6:30 p.m. dinner. Tickets are $85 ($35 tax-deductible) and $1,000 ($500 tax-deductible) for a table. You also can sponsor a student for $85 (fully tax-deductible). Click here to buy tickets.

Baquet will be interviewed by Prof. Nancy Sharkey at the UA College of Social and Behavioral Sciences' Downtown Series, "Truth and Trust in the Global Scene," at 6:30 p.m. Oct. 19 at the Fox Theatre. Go here to reserve free tickets.

More about Baquet

Erik Kolsrud named Don Bolles Fellow

Senior Eric Kolsrud has been awarded the 2018 Don Bolles Fellowship and will cover the Arizona Legislature in the spring for the school’s Arizona Sonora News media service.
Kolsrud, flying the school's drone above, has covered border issues and is eyeing a career in law or watchdog reporting.

The fellowship is named after Bolles, an investigative reporter for The Arizona Republic who was killed in a car bombing in 1976. It provides expenses, housing and a stipend for Kolsrud to live in Phoenix and is funded through a donation by alumna Joni Hirsch Blackman and the Armin and Esther Hirsch Foundation.

Read the full story.

Loft Q&A features Times critic Trebay

The school's Journalism on Screen series continues Sunday, Oct. 6, at 4 p.m. with a screening of "Bill Cunningham New York," followed by a Q&A with New York Times critic Guy Trebay (left).

Will Conroy (right), a screenwriter whose family runs the Arizona Inn, will be the moderator. Trebay, on the Times' Culture and Style desk, wrote a 2015 story, "In Tucson, an unsung architectural oasis."

The 2010 documentary follows New York Times photographer Bill Cunningham, a Schwinn-riding cultural anthropologist who chronicled fashion trends and high-society events for the newspaper's Style section. He died in 2016.

• Click here for more info.
Tickets. • See the trailer.

Follow on Twitter | Friend on Facebook  | Journalism website
Contact us at (520) 621-7556 or e-mail us at
Our mailing address is: 845 N. Park Ave. P.O. Box 210158B, Tucson, AZ 85721-0158 

Donate Now
unsubscribe from this list | update subscription preferences