Copy
Slooh: Space for Everyone

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Third Newly Discovered Asteroid Flies Between Earth and the Moon in Just 4 Weeks
See the Close Approach LIVE on Slooh as We Explore This Freaky Cluster of Asteroids

 

WASHINGTON DEPOT, CT - February 1, 2017 - For the third time in just four weeks, an asteroid will fly between the Earth and the Moon just days after its discovery. Asteroid 2017 BS32 was discovered on January 30th and will come more than twice as close to the Earth as the Moon during its closest approach on February 2nd. This marks the latest in a cluster of late-discovered, close approach asteroids.

At the moment of the asteroid’s approach, starting at 3 PM EST, Slooh will point its telescopes at BS32 in an attempt to capture the fast moving space rock as it flies between Earth and the Moon.

"It raises a few eyebrows when we see a number of close approaching NEAs over such a short period of time,” says Slooh Astronomer, Paul Cox. “We’ll investigate how this could be.”  Slooh Astronomers will discuss the implications of this sharp increase in late-discovered asteroids coming so close to the planet, and whether this has happened in the past. They’ll also examine the asteroid in question, its size and speed, while exploring why smaller asteroids so often go undetected until just days before they reach their closest point to the planet.

NEA 2017 BS32 was discovered on January 30th by observers at Pan-STARRS and will make its closest approach at 20:23 UTC (3:23 PM EST) on February 2nd. At the time of closest approach, BS32 will be just 100,214 miles above the Earth, 60% closer than the Moon.

Viewers are encouraged to ask questions of Slooh’s astronomers by tweeting them to @Slooh or by taking part in the live chat on Facebook.
 

Event Details


Event Timing:
Live Stream starts: 12:00 PM PST  ¦  3:00 PM EST  ¦  20:00UTC
Live Stream ends: 12:30 PM PST  ¦  3:30 PM EST  ¦  20:30UTC


TO WATCH Slooh’s live coverage:
http://live.slooh.com/stadium/live/asteroid-2017-bs32-flies-by-earth

**NEW**   
SHARE the Facebook Live event from Slooh’s Facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/SloohLive/


TO EMBED Slooh’s coverage into any website:
Link - www.slooh.com
Embed - <iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/9_8hqj9fhoU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

If you embed our livestream, we ask that you include the following copy on the page:
You can go to
Slooh.com to join and watch this live broadcast, snap and share your own photos during the event, chat with audience members and interact with the hosts, and personally control Slooh’s telescopes.

We own all copyright to the text, images, photographs, video, audio, graphics, user interface, and other content provided on Slooh live broadcasts. A Slooh watermark will be included on our live feed. Slooh may run ads before, during, or after any broadcast. “Courtesy of Slooh” must be located adjacent to the feed with a link back to www.slooh.com. You may not embed Slooh's coverage in web pages that include footage or links to other live coverage. You may not alter or modify our broadcast in any way, unless provided with written permission to do so.


About Slooh

Slooh connects humanity through communal exploration of the universe. Slooh’s automated observatories develop celestial image streams in real-time for broadcast to the Internet, and Slooh’s technology is protected by Patent No.: US 7,194,146 B2 which was awarded in 2006.  Slooh has traveled with a mobile observatory to Kenya, the Faroe Islands, Indonesia, Iceland, Australia, and Alaska, and partnered with observatories in Arizona, Japan, Hawaii, Cypress, Dubai, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Norway and many more to broadcast live celestial events of potentially hazardous asteroids (PHAs), comets, transits, eclipses, solar activity, etc., which are syndicated to media outlets worldwide, including TIME, National Geographic, Wired, ABC News, CNN and many more. Celebrate the Transcontinental Eclipse, a Total Solar Eclipse, August 21st, 2017 in Stanley, Idaho, with Slooh as it hosts a three day cultural festival for community members. Slooh recently published a book, The Saturn Above It, An Anthology of Short Fiction About Space, edited by Karen Stevens. Slooh is supported by investment from Connecticut Innovations, the State’s venture capital investment fund. Slooh is based in Washington Depot, CT and is hiring for positions in engineering and content development.

 

Contact:
Tricia Ennis
EM:  
tricia@slooh.com
PH: 877-427-5664, ext. 3
176 West Morris Road
Washington Depot CT 06794

 


Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SloohLive/
Twitter: www.twitter.com/slooh
Instagram: www.instagram.com/slooh

Copyright © 2017 Slooh, All rights reserved.