Copy
April 2014
View this email in your browser
NEWS FROM ELSEWHERE
Announcing 2014 Artists-in-Residence
ELSEWHERE'S BACK FOR THE 11TH SEASON
EVENTS
1. Grand Re-Opening Parade & Feast of Fools | April 1 at 6pm
2. Museum Open for 2014 | April 2 at 1pm
3. First Friday : Elsewhere's Back | April 4 from 6 - 10pm
4. QueerLab Workshops Begin | April 2 from 6 - 8pm (Wednesdays, bi-weekly, through May 28)
5. 
4th Annual Passover Seder | April 17 at 7pm
6. IncrEDIBLE Plant Sale at Children's Museum | April 26 from 10am to 2pm

HAPPENINGS
1. Artist Talks | Thursdays at 8pm ($1 / free for members)
2. Weekly Tours | Saturdays at 4pm ($10 / $5 members)
3. Members' Dinners | Wed - Sat at 7pm ($5 members / RSVP to kitchen@goelsewhere.org)
4. Museum Open | Wednesday through Saturday from 1pm to 10pm ($1 / free for members)
5. QueerLab Workshops | Every other Wednesday, April 2 - May 28, from 6 - 8pm

RESIDENTS
1. Kathryn Sclavi (Philadelphia, PA)
2. Alison Kobayashi (Brooklyn, NY) 
3. Heidi Nielson (Long Island, NY)
4. Calvin Brett (Durham, NC)
5. Devin Balara (Bloomington, IN)

NEW WORKS
1. The Jewel Box | Elsewhere + Pop! Downtown Greensboro

GET INVOLVED
1. Join Elsewhere, become a member NOW.
2. Call for Submissions : I Don't Do Boxes Volume 2
3. Schedule a creative retreat or tour for your class, organization, or group.
4. Apply for an internship.
5. Participate in QueerLab workshops Wednesday this Spring.  

STAY CONNECTED 
1. New events and artist happenings added weekly on Facebook and goelsewhere.org/events
MORE ABOUT EVENTS
1. A parade in celebration of all things absurd to usher in the grand re-opening of the museum. Take to the sidewalks of Downtown Greensboro with the Elsewhere crew, Cackalack Thunder and friends. Items from the collection out on tour. Floats, dancing, funny bikes, merry mischief + more. Foolish costumes strongly encouraged.

Departs from Elsewhere April 1 at 6pm.

Followed by a Feast of Fools community dinner at 7:30pm. $5 for members / $10 for non-members. Seating is limited. To reserve your spot please RSVP to kitchen@goelsewhere.org by Monday, March 31. 

2. The museum is open officially for the 2014 season! Visit Wednesday through Saturday from 1 - 10pm ($1 / free for members).
 
3. It's an Elsewhere First Friday Opening in Downtown Greensboro featuring works by visiting artists, special musical performance by Joy on Fire, and Elsewhere TV interviews. 

4. Join us for QueerLab workshops every other Wednesday from 6-8pm this April and May 2014. All workshops are free and open to all, hosted at Elsewhere.
  • April 2nd: Band 101: A Technical and Creative Toolbox with Georgianna Harris and Megan Denton of QORDS When we go see our favorite band in concert, we’re seeing the finished product of lots of hard work and knowledge.  In this workshop we’re demystifying the glamour of the rockstar and learning what really goes into those awesome performances. Participants will  be given an introductory course on the fundamentals of musicianship, the ins and outs of being in a band, and explore creative song writing processes, as well as engage in hands-on activities with drums, guitars, amps, mics, and other sound-making mediums.
  • April 16th: Podcasting and Interview Basics : Learn the art of interviewing and how to ask the right questions. We’ll also explore the ins and outs of creating a podcast, how to use a field recorder and practice interviewing each other using Elsewhere’s museum and our own stories as inspiration.
  • April 30: Vocal Improvisation Workshop with Quilla : Ever wanted to sing your heart out, but were too afraid? Join this safe space where everyone is welcome, whether you are a beginner singer, expert yodeler or anything in between. There are sounds within us all, just waiting to be released. Learn to unleash your inner beast! Drop beats, not bombs. Let your voice soar to new heights! Topics examined will include linguistics, poetry, traditional chanting techniques from around the world, beatboxing, and experimental group improv singing exercises.

5. An intimate evening of traditional foods with an untraditional telling of the Passover story across the museum’s three floors. Elsewhere’s Seder connects Jewish  liberation with historic and contemporary liberation texts. Excerpts include Bell Hooks, David Wojnarowicz, Baal Shem Tov, Malcolm X, Susannah Herschel, among others.

$10-25 sliding scale.

Please RSVP to kitchen@goelsewhere.org by Monday, April 14.

For questions please contact George Scheer at wanderingzoo@goelsewhere.org.

ARTISTS-IN-RESIDENCE

Ali Aschman (Chicago, IL) | www.aliaschman.com

Evanthia Afstralou (London, UK) | https://vimeo.com/user18298859

Lani Asuncion (New Haven, CT) |  http://www.laniasuncion.com/

Devin Balara (Bloomington, IN) | www.devinbalara.com

Lyndon Barrois Jr. (St. Louis, MO) | lbarroisjr.blogspot.com

Laura Bernstein (Philadelphia, PA) | www.rarabernstein.com

Laura Bigger (Minneapolis, MN) | http://cargocollective.com/laurabigger

Calvin Brett (Durham, NC) | http://CalvinBrett.tumblr.com

Margaret Bowes (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) | http://www.margaretbowes.com

Laura Davis (Chicago, IL) | http://www.lauraanndavis.com/

Fionn Duffy (Brighton, UK) | www.fionnduffy.co.uk

Addoley Dzegede (St. Louis, MO) | http://addoley.com/

Santiago Eschevvery (Tampa, FL) | www.santi.tv â€“ Southern Constellations Fellow

Andrew Fansler (Winston-Salem, NC) | www.cloudcrusher.com

Kate Gilbert (Boston, MA) | http://kategilbertstudio.com/

Leah Hamby (Birmingham, AL)

Elizabeth Hamilton (Philadelphia, PA) | http://elizabethmhamilton.com/

Justus Harris (Chicago, IL) | www.justusharris.com

Sam Holleran (New York, NY) | http://samholler.com/

Katie Hudnall (Indianapolis, IN) | http://katiehudnall.com/home.html

Kirsty Hulm (Victoria, Australia) | http://www.imaginemeandyouido.com

Alison Kobeyashi (Brooklyn, NY) | www.asmk.ca/HOME

Jasper Lee (Birmingham, AL)

Melissa Levin (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) | http://www.melissalevinartist.com/

Kelly Lloyd (Chicago, IL) | http://kelly-lloyd.com/

Emily Lombardo (Boston, MA) | http://emilylombardo.com/

Simone Longo (London, UK) | www.simonlongo.com

Audrey Love (Oakland, CA) | www.audreyobscura.com

Li Ma (San Francisco, CA)

Hillerbrand Magsaman (Houston, TX) | http://hillerbrandmagsamen.com/ - Southern Constellations

Emilio Maldonado (St. Charles, MO) | http://www.emiliomaldonado.com/

Kevin Nagler (Portland, OR) | http://vimeo.com/user469895

Heidi Nielson (Long Island, NY) | http://heidineilson.com/

Brenda Oelbaum (Ann Arbor, MI) | http://brendaoelbaum.me/galleries/

Morgan Page (Batesville, AR) | http://morgancpage.com

Judith Parker (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada)

James Robert Reed (Honolulu, HI) | www.fabulousrobertreed.com

Lavina Roberts (New York, NY) | http://www.flickr.com/photos/113263615@N05

Rachael Layne Rush (Columbus, OH) | http://rachaellaynerush.com/portfolio/

Honi Ryan (Blue Mountains, Australia) | www.honiryan.net

Kathryn Sclavi (Philadelphia, PA) | http://kathrynsclavi.com/

Samara Smith (Brooklyn, NY) | http://samarasmith.com

Travis Somerville (San Francisco, CA) | TravisSomerville.com â€“ Southern Constellations

Jacob Stanley (St. Louis, MO) | http://www.behance.net/gallery/Personal-Artwork/2748461

Megan Stockton (Brooklyn, NY) | http://megan-stockton.tumblr.com/

Zipporah Thompson (Athens, GA) | zipporahcamille.com

Taylor Tower (MN) | http://taylorgtower.com

Moi Tron (London, U.K.) | www.moitran.com + www.moitran.co.uk

Stacey Lynn Waddell (Chapel Hill, NC) | http://www.stacylynnwaddell.com/ â€“ Southern Constellations

Jan Wade (Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada) | www.janwade.com

Martha Whittington (Atlanta, GA) | www.marthawhittington.com  - Southern Constellations

Stephanie Williams (Alexandria, VA) | http://www.stephaniejwilliams.com

BECOME A MEMBER
Elsewhere members + sponsors experience the great adventures and mysterious depths of an endlessly changing spectrum of living art.

Benefits include a passport guide to Elsewhere, free admissions, special invitations, seasonal members events, public studio access, discounted tickets to annual fundraiser, tax-deductions, and featured thanks in the museum and online.

We invite you to join our family of local and global supporters building a more collaborative culture and a more creative world.


Want to know more?
Here's a look back at Elsewhere 2013:
2013 Elsewhere Annual Report
ABOUT ELSEWHERE
Elsewhere is an artist-run, non-profit contemporary art organization, set in a former thrift store in downtown Greensboro, NC. Utilizing the massive 58-year inventory, Elsewhere’s environment of art and everyday objects invokes new modes for creative response, living, doing, and exchanging in our downtown neighborhood and across the world.

 
Elsewhere is funded in part by The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, The National Endowment for the Arts, The North Carolina Arts Council, artsgreensboro, the Fund for Democratic Communities, the Future Fund of the Community Foundation of Greater Greensboro, the Elizabeth Firestone Graham Foundation, the Kresge Foundation, Tannenbaum Sternberger Foundation, Guilford Green Foundation, the Harpo Foundation, the Gallucci Creative Fund, Lincoln Financial Foundation, Art Matters & friends like you.
            
Copyright © 2014 Elsewhere, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences