Action Alert from Christian Concern View in your browser. 
Christian Concern
 

ACTION: Ask the Bishops to stand up for marriage

Sir Joseph Pilling
On 28th November 2013, the Church of England published a crucial report by the House of Bishops Working Group on Sexuality (Pilling Report), outlining its recommendations for the recognition of same-sex relationships by the CofE.

The Report suggests that, while the Church of England should not change its official teaching on marriage and sexuality, it should enter into a period of “facilitated conversions” to allow local clergy to bless same sex partnerships informally, using unauthorised liturgies. 

However, to allow informal blessings of same-sex relationships, while claiming not to change the church’s teaching, would in practice and in fact, change the church’s traditional teaching on the issue. 

The College of Bishops meets next Monday (27th January) to give serious consideration to the proposals put forward by the Pilling Report.

Please write to the Bishops, urging them to affirm the Bible’s clear teaching on marriage and sexuality and to give courageous leadership which is faithful to Scripture.

Concerns about the Report which you may wish to make are:
  • The report as a whole appeals to the secular world-view by seeking to accommodate same sex relationships
  • The liberal view of Scripture adopted by the Report is hugely concerning as it suggests that Scripture does not offer conclusive teaching on the issue of homosexual practice
  • The Report wrongly claims that Scripture and theology are apparently unclear on the rightness of homosexual practice, but urges the church to go ahead and bless such practice anyway, as long as the relationships are ‘permanent, faithful and stable’
  • The Bible offers clear teaching on how humans are best able to flourish and we appeal to you as Bishops to reinforce the commitment to biblical teaching
  • Permitting services to bless same sex unions would be a direct denial of the authority and teachings of the Bible, and would result in serious division, distress and acrimony within the Church
  • Allowing clergy to offer an informal blessing, and claiming that this does not change traditional Anglican teaching, is too fine a distinction and potentially contradictory for the wide Christian community and beyond
  • True pastoral care in the case of those experiencing same-sex attraction is to help them live Christianly and it is wrong to separate teaching and practice
Please also ask the Bishops to support the strong dissent to the Report issued by the Bishop of Birkenhead, which you can read here >

Click here to read the full text of the Pilling Report >


See below for contact details of the Bishops:
 
Archbishop of Canterbury The Most Rev and Rt Hon
Justin Welby
contact@lambethpalace.org.uk
Archbishop of York The Most Rev and Rt Hon
John Sentamu
office@archbishopofyork.org
Bishop of London The Rt Rev and Rt Hon
Richard Chartres
bishop@londin.clara.co.uk
Bishop of Winchester The Rt Rev
Timothy Dakin
bishop.tim@winchester.anglican.org
Bishop of Bath & Wells
(Vacany-in-See)
Christine Treanor
 (Personal Assistant)
info@bishopspalace.org.uk
Bishop of Birmingham The Rt Rev
David Urquhart
m.rose@birmingham.anglican.org
Bishop of Bristol The Rt Rev
Michael Hill
bishop@bristoldiocese.org
Bishop of Chester The Rt Rev
Peter Forster
bpchester@chester.anglican.org
Bishop of Coventry The Rt Rev
Christopher
Cocksworth
bishop@bishop-coventry.org
Bishop of Derby The Rt Rev Dr
Alastair Redfern
bishop@bishopofderby.org
Bishop of Exeter
(Vacancy-in-See)
Suffragan Bishop of
Crediton The Rt Revd
Nick McKinnel
bishop.of.crediton@exeter.anglican.org
Bishop of Gloucester The Rt Rev
Michael Perham
church.house@glosdioc.org.uk
Bishop of Guildford
(Vacancy-in-See)
Suffragan Bishop of Dorking
The Rt Revd Ian Brackley 
bishop.ian@cofeguildford.org.uk
Bishop of Hereford The Rt Rev
Anthony Priddis
bishop.anthony@hereford.anglican.org
Bishop of Leicester The Rt Rev
Timothy Stevens
bishop.tim@leccofe.org
Bishop of Lichfield The Rt Rev
Jonathan Gledhill
bishop.lichfield@lichfield.anglican.org
Bishop of Liverpool
(Vacancy-in-See)
Contact Nerys Cooke
(Secretary of Suffragan Bishop
The Rt Revd
Richard Blackburn)
nerys.cooke@liverpool.anglican.org
Bishop of Newcastle The Rt Rev
Martin Wharton
bishop@newcastle.anglican.org
Bishop of Norwich The Rt Rev
Graham James
bishop@norwich.anglican.org
Bishop of Oxford The Rt Rev
John Pritchard
bishopoxon@oxford.anglican.org
Bishop of Ripon and Leeds The Rt Rev
John Packer
bishop@riponleeds-diocese.org.uk
Bishop of St Edmundsbury
& Ipswich
The Right Rev
David Thomson
bishops.office@cofesuffolk.org
Bishop of Truro The Rt Rev Timothy Thornton bishop@truro.anglican.org
Bishop of Wakefield The Rt Rev Stephen Platten bishop@bishopofwakefield.org.uk
Bishop of Worcester The Rt Rev Dr John Inge catrine.ball@cofe-worcester.org.uk
Bishop of Salisbury  The Rt Rev
Nicholas Holtman 
bishop.salisbury@salisbury.anglican.org 
Bishop of Winchester  The Rt Rev
Tim Dakin 
bishop.tim@winchester.anglican.org
Bishop of Portsmouth The Rt Rev
Christopher Foster
bishop.christopher@portsmouth.anglican.org
Bishop of Chichester The Rt Rev Dr
Martin Warner 
bishop@chichester.anglican.org
Bishop of Rochester The Rt Rev
James Langstaff
bishop.rochester@rochester.anglican.org
Bishop of Southwark The Rt Revd
Christopher Chessun
http://www.southwark.anglican.org/contacts/email.php?id=23
Bishop of Chelmsford  The Rt Revd Stephen Cottrell bishopscourt@chelmsford.anglican.org
Bishop of St Albans The Rt Revd Dr Alan Smith  mhandford@stalbans.anglican.org
Bishop of Ely  The Right Revd
Stephen Conway
bishop@ely.anglican.org 
Bishop of Peterborough  The Rt Revd
Donald Allister
bishop@peterborough-diocese.org.uk
Bishop of Hereford
(Vacancy-in-See)
Contact Julie Milne
(Personal Assistant)
j.milne@hereford.anglican.org
Bishop of Southwell
& Nottingham 
Suffragan Bishop The Rt Revd
Tony Porter, Bishop of Sherwood
bishopsherwood@southwell.anglican.org
Bishop of Lincoln  The Rt Revd
Christopher Lowson
bishop.lincoln@lincoln.anglican.org
Bishop of Sheffield  The Rt Revd
Steven Croft
bishop@bishopofsheffield.org.uk
Bishop of Manchester  The Rt Revd
D S Walker (David)
http://www.manchester.anglican.org/whos-who/email/154691
Bishop of Bradford  The Rt Revd
 Nick Baines
bishop.nick@bradford.anglican.org
Bishop of Blackburn  The Rt Revd
 Julian Henderson
bishop@bishopofblackburn.org.uk
Bishop of Durham  The Right Revd
Paul Butler
bishop.of.durham@durham.anglican.org
Bishop of Carlisle  The Rt Revd
James Newcome
bishop.carlisle@carlislediocese.org.uk
 
       
Support Us       Christian Concern
       
Follow us on Twitter! Follow us on Twitter
Follow us on Facebook! Become a fan
Donate online Donate Online

Share this email: :
    70 Wimpole Street
London
W1G 8AX
Phone: 020 3327 1120
www.christianconcern.com
     
Unsubscribe
Unsubscribe jill.mans@ntlworld.com from this list.
    Forward
Forward this email to a friend
         

Copyright (C) 2010 Christian Concern. All rights reserved.