EPA Minds Online N°7/2013

Present at EPA 2014 Munich 

The 22nd European Congress of Psychiatry (EPA 2014) taking place 1-4 March 2014 in Munich, Germany, will be a major meeting of international psychiatrists dedicated to promoting European psychiatry and to improving mental health around the globe.
Guided by the motto, "European Psychiatry Focusing on Body and Mind”, EPA 2014 is Europe’s leading platform devoted to facilitating a robust exchange of ideas, reflection and collaboration of expertise in the field of psychiatry and its related disciplines.
Now is your chance to make your mark on EPA 2014 Munich by submitting abstracts for Posters and Oral Communications.  Click here for the rules and the submission system. Deadline to submit: 1 October 2013.

Travel Grants
Submitted an abstract? Under the age of 40? Why not apply for an EPA Travel Grant?
EPA will again offer 30 Travel Grants to deserving abstract submitters. Priority will be given to those applicants belonging to a national psychiatric association that is a member of EPA’s Council of NPAs.
Click here for the eligibility criteria and the application details. Deadline to submit: 1 October 2013.

SPC Refines Scientific Programme of EPA 2014 Munich

EPA’s Scientific Programme Committee (SPC) met on 4 July 2013 in London. The Committee was tasked with selecting the symposia, workshops and EPA Academia Educational Courses that will be held during the 22nd European Congress of Psychiatry.

Additionally the SPC approved the composition of the European Early Career Psychiatrists Programme, a specialist programme tailored to the needs of the Early Career Psychiatrist. For more details on the EPA 2014 Munich Scientific Programme, visit the Congress website.
EPA’s New Board Meets for First Time
Following elections in April 2013, the new EPA Board met for the first time this year on 5 July 2013 in London. The Royal College of Psychiatrists graciously hosted both the SPC and Board meetings.
The main agenda items included the Office Bearer Elections and the renewal of EPA Committees. The following EPA Board Members were elected: Wolfgang Gaebel (President Elect), Julian Beezhold (Secretary General), Philip Gorwood (Treasurer), Michael Musalek (Secretary for Sections) and Cécile Hanon (Secretary for Education).
Concerning the renewal of Committees, the Board discussed the objectives and composition of each EPA Committee. The creation of three new committees was approved: the Guidance Committee, a Section’s Committee and the Ambassadors Programme. Stay tuned for more information about these committees.
Honoring EPA Board member

We are pleased to announce that Professor Dr. Rutger Jan van der Gaag was honored by the Royal College of Psychiatrists for his contributions in the field of psychiatry, particularly related to policy making. Professor Dr. Rutger Jan van der Gaag is the former President of the Netherlands Psychiatric Association (2008-2013). In April 2013 he was elected as an EPA Board member and as Secretary of the Steering Committee of the EPA Council of NPAs.

The EPA warmly congratulates Professor Dr. Rutger Jan van der Gaag on this achievement.
Follow EPA and join the discussion! #EPAEthics2013, #EPA2014Munich
Forward to Friend
Our mailing address is:
European Psychiatric Association
15 Avenue de la Liberté
Strasbourg 67000

Add us to your address book