View this email in your browser
New Books! Newsletter
September 1, 2015
Holy cats, it's already September. Which means it's time for another first Tuesday mega-list! And episode 17 of All the Books! is up now. This week, Rebecca and I discussed several of the best books out today, including Sorcerer to the Crown and Paulina & Fran. You can check out a lot more titles below!
 

This week's newsletter is sponsored by Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman.

When Kate Thompson’s father is killed by the notorious Red Rose Gang for a mysterious journal that reveals the secret location of a gold mine, the eighteen-year-old disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers and justice. What she finds are devious strangers, dust storms, and a pair of brothers who refuse to quit riding in her shadow. But as Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, she gets closer to the truth about herself and must decide if there's room for love in a heart so full of hate.

 In the spirit of True Grit, the cutthroat days of the Wild West come to life for a new generation.
 
                                               
The Wake by Paul Kingsnorth
I will be the first to say that this book is not for everyone. It is written in the author's own version of Olde English and it requires serious concentration. That said, if you like a challenge and a great story, then check out this tale of Buccmaster, a man witnessing the end of the world one thousand years ago. And bravo to Graywolf for taking on this formidable achievement in historical fiction!

Did You Ever Have a Family by Bill Clegg
Redemption and grief are the driving forces of Clegg's debut novel, about a tragedy that claims all but one person inside a home the night before a wedding. Narrated by multiple people affected by the tragedy, as well as the people who interact with the survivor, this book is a beautiful meditation on how quickly we judge ourselves and others, and our search for forgiveness. (It has already been longlisted for this year's Man Booker Prize.) 

Is Fat Bob Dead Yet? by Stephen Dobyns
A new Stephen Dobyns book is cause to celebrate. In his new mystery, Connor Raposo witnesses what he thinks is a terrible accident, but one of the men he sees hanging around the crime scene looks really familiar, and suddenly the accident doesn't seem so accidental. This book is great fun! Also, if you want to read a creepy book, check out his novel The Church of Dead Girls.

Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon
Fans of Rainbow Rowell and John Green are sure to love this new novel about two teens flirting with love and disaster. Maddy is allergic to the world and spends her days inside, where nothing interesting ever happens, until Olly moves in next door. Can their relationship survive the difficulties of Maddy's illness? A sweet, funny story of teens in love, sure to warm your heart. 

Dryland by Sara Jaffe
A fresh coming-of-age novel set in the early 1990s, about a fifteen-year-old named Julie who is dealing with family issues. Julie's brother was once destined to be an Olympic swimmer, but now lives in self-imposed exile in Germany. Julie herself is being wooed by the swim team captain to try out for the team, but is worried what her parents will think. A charming and moving debut.

Speak Easy by Catherynne Valente
Set at the hotel Artemisia in a decade that never was, Speak Easy is a fantastical story of bootlegger fairy tales, jazz and organized crime, through which the lovely Zelda must navigate. Valente reinterprets The Twelve Dancing Princesses if Zelda Fitgerald was the main character, and delivers a fun tale unlike anything else. She is, as always, a brilliant storyteller and fantastic weaver of worlds.

The Story of the Lost Child by Elena Ferrante
Hallelujah, the fourth and final installment of the Neapolitan Novels is here! And it is the magical conclusion you were hoping for. This installment follows Elena and Lila, best friends in Italy, as they make difficult decisions about their lives. Heartbreaking and wonderful, it's one of the best contemporary stories about friendship ever told. If you haven't read Ferente before, run, don't walk, to pick up...well, any of her books. She's incredible.
 
Don't Fail Me Now by Una LaMarche
LaMarche, author of the super-great memoir Unabrow, returns with a young adult novel about teens living in Maryland. Michelle and Leah must overlook their different racial and economic backgrounds to come together over the thing they have in common: their father, Buck, who is dying. LaMarche writes a compassionate story of forgiveness and how privilege divides even those related by blood.

The Drafter by Kim Harrison
In Detroit, 2030, Peri Reed is running from the agency that trained her to be a weapon and then double-crossed her, erasing important knowledge about who she is and where she has been. But Peri is a 'drafter', someone who possesses the ability to alter time and history, and she'll use her skills to try and get back the memories taken from her and find those responsible. A kick-ass start to a new series!

The Gates of Evangeline by Hester Young
When recently bereaved mother Charlie Cates begins having vivid dreams warning her of children in danger, she first thinks she's losing her mind. But when a dream uncovers information about a thirty-year-old missing-child case, people begin to take her seriously, and Charlie must decide whether to trust the real or the imagined, both of which place her in the way of danger. A great, fast-paced debut thriller!

Marvel and a Wonder by Joe Meno
The always-wonderful Joe Meno is back with a many-layered tale about a Korean War vet struggling to raise his teenage grandson on a farm in Indiana. When their beautiful horse is stolen and sold by criminals, grandfather and grandson must travel to a dangerous place to retrieve it, learning each other's personal tragedies and heartaches along the way. This is a departure from Meno's usual novels, and borders on Cormac McCarthy territory.

The Girl in the Spider's Web by David Lagercrantz
Okay, I have not read this book (I don't think they needed to send out galleys, since it's guaranteed to sell a zillion copies no matter what) but all the early reviews are amazing good! If you're not familiar with the book, this is a continuation of Stieg Larrson's Millenium series, featuring everyone's favorite girl with a dragon tattoo, Lisbeth Salander. In this, Lisbeth and Blomkvist chase after spies and cybercriminals claiming to have information vital to the United States. If the reviews are to be believed, fans of the series will not be disappointed.


More great books out today:
Jillian Cade: (Fake) Paranormal Investigator by Jen Klein

Vivian Apple Needs a Miracle by Katie Coyle


Ivory Vikings: The Mystery of the Most Famous Chessmen in the World and the Woman Who Made Them by Nancy Marie Brown

The Copper Gauntlet (Magisterium, Book 2) by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare

I Can't Believe It's Not Better: A Woman's Guide to Coping With Life by Monica Heisey

Chicago Noir edited by Joe Meno

The Wages of Guilt: Memories of War in Germany and Japan by Ian Buruma

Purity by Jonathan Franzen

The Telling by Jo Baker

Alexander McQueen: Blood Beneath the Skin by Andrew Wilson


The Sorcerer of the Wildeeps by Kai Ashante Wilson

The Middle of Somewhere by Sonja Yoerg

Chapelwood by Cherie Priest

The Dogs by Allan Stratton

The Shepherd's Crown by Terry Pratchett

A Clue to the Exit by Edward St. Aubyn


Hunter by Mercedes Lackey

The House of Twenty Thousand Books by Sasha Abramsky

Wolf in White Van by John Darnielle ( Now in paperback.)

The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher by Hilary Mantel (Now in paperback.)

The Hundred-Year Flood by Matthew Salesses (Now in paperback.)


That's it for me today. And like I said, there are even more great new books out today that you can hear about on the podcast. BOOKS BOOKS BOOKS! Hope you're having lots of fun wherever you are! As always, you can find me on Twitter at MissLiberty and on Instagram at FranzenComesAlive.

Until next week, kittens, 

Liberty

_________________________

Save 25% on everything in the Book Riot Collection this week. That includes our super snuggly hoodie. 


 
Copyright © 2015 Riot New Media Group, Inc, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences