Copy
November 20, 2019
View this email in your browser
 
National Leaders in the Mental Health Aspects
of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities
The registration deadline for the MHIDD Mobile Crisis Responder Training is Sunday December 15th, 2019
New Training Announcement
Training Course on the Mental Health Aspects of IDD
for Mobile Crisis Responders

The Center for START Services (CSS) is pleased to announce a new 6-week web-based training course designed for mobile crisis responders who support individuals with IDD and mental health needs. The course will teach best practices in crisis assessment, response, and disposition and is highly recommended for the following providers:
  • Mobile Crisis Responders, Clinicians & Supervisors
  • Mental Health and/or IDD Case Managers /Service Coordinators
  • Emergency Services Clinicians
The MHIDD Crisis Response course will be offered quarterly with the first starting on January 14, 2020. Sessions are 75 minutes long and will take place each week on Tuesday from 3:00-4:15 pm eastern/2:00-3:15 pm central/1:00-2:15 pm mountain/12:00-1:15 pm pacific. Registration for the MHIDD Mobile Crisis Response Course is $149 per person, and space is limited.
Please share this training announcement with partners in your community, outside your direct service area, as well as anyone that you think might benefit from this training. This is not a required training for any START teams but one that may enhance the capacity of mobile crisis providers in and around communities with START programs.
Course Learning Objectives:
  • Identify how common mental health conditions may present in persons with IDD
  • Identify the most common mental health conditions within the IDD population
  • Clarify difference between presentation and conceptualization
  • Apply skills and approaches learned within sessions to crisis assessments of individuals with MH/IDD
  • Integrate information learned into disposition recommendations
Certificate of Completion Requirements:
In order to receive a CSS Certificate of Completion for Training in Mobile Crisis Response for Persons with MH/IDD and 0.75 University of New Hampshire CEUs (7.5 contact hours) participants must:
  • Attend each session via Zoom videoconferencing
  • View/read weekly assigned materials before session date
  • Complete weekly case vignette assignments
  • Actively participate in each session
  • Communicate with facilitator about any questions or feedback
  • Complete pre-survey, evaluation & post-survey
Register Here for the MHIDD Mobile Crisis Response Course
Thanks for reading,

The Center for START Services

 
Facebook
Facebook
Twitter
Twitter
Website
Website
Email
Email
Copyright © 2019 Center for START Services, All rights reserved.


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Institute on Disability at the University of New Hampshire