View this email in your browser
West Hatch High School on Facebook
West Hatch High School on Twitter
West Hatch High School website
Issued: April 27, 2016

West Hatch High School holds 'Oscar' night

West Hatch High School hosted its own 'Oscar' evening to celebrate the success, creativity and dedication of Year 12 and 13 Film and Media Studies students.

Students arrived along a red carpet before being transported into the Oscar-themed drama studio.

The evening - dedicated to students who had produced music videos, thriller opening sequences, storyboards and screenplays - was an opportunity for students to see their work and was also an opportunity for their work to be acknowledged within several different categories.

They ranged from best cinematography, most original music video and most improved student.
Students took their seats, with popcorn in hand, and waited for the presenters - the school's Head of Media Studies, Andriani Georgiou, and Media teacher
Mariana Miller - who handed out the Oscar trophies.

Each award consisted of different nominees before the winner was announced.

The audience also witnessed an array of montage images to demonstrate why each production was nominated, before the winner was revealed.

The winners were:

* Best cinematography within a music video - Molly Emmerson, Claire Golightly and Sara
Sheriff for 'Salvation'.
* Best editing within a music video - Mikaeel Khaliq and Harry Osborn for 'I Know'.
* Best original music video - Jemimah Ali, Bettie Cooper, Jessica McCullagh and Rishika Sohal for 'Wings'.
* Most conventional artist representation in a music video - Amy Sowerby for 'Salvation'.
* Best cinematography within a thriller - Luca Khan, John Mavideniz, Ciara Ratican and Sasha Walledge for 'Imprisoned'.
* Best editing within a thriller - Layla Boudaboussa, Leo Ly and Samara Stevenson for 'The Clown'.
* Most conventional thriller- Nojus Cinkus for 'Blacklist'.
* Most conventional screenplay - Stephen Noorshargh for 'Diary of a solider'.
* Most conventional storyboard - Luca Khan for 'Ports in the Storm'
* Outstanding contribution to Media Studies - Kerry Boyne.
* Outstanding contribution to Film studies- Charlie Stewart.
* Most improved Media studies student- Claire Golightly.
* Most improved Film studies student - Tyler Osman.

Head of Media Studies Andriani Georgiou said: "The evening was an overall success and students appreciated the hard work and commitment that had gone into organising and arranging the occasion.

"Year 12 students are already looking forward to next year."
The Everything Local News media service is part of Everything Epping Forest. To receive Everything Epping Forest's district-wide news content by email CLICK HERE and click 'Send' on your email
Issued by the Everything Local News media service - - part of Everything Epping Forest and Everything Harlow - and For more details, ring David Jackman on 07710 447868 or email
Our mailing address is:

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list