Copy
Great new books for schools and libraries
Hello Book-Lovers!

What a huge month of books! We've got a fast-paced ghostly adventure through the cemetaries of London, the epic conculsion to a best-selling series, a very special anniversary and a New York Times bestseller. Read on to find your next favourite book.

Check out the Walker Books School and Library Term One catalogue for a comprehensive list of our best books for the beginning of the year. You can also download an order form for all books mentioned in this newsletter. Please note that Walker Books don't supply schools and libraries directly, please let me know if you'd like a recommendation for a good bookseller.

As always, visit Walker Books Classroom to find all of our classroom ideas and booklists, and make sure to follow me on Twitter @walker_class.

Happy Reading!
Steve Spargo
School and Library Manager
Walker Books Australia
@walker_class
History and mystery wrapped in a thrilling supernatural plot

Flossie Birdwhistle is the Turnkey at London's Highgate Cemetery. As Turnkey, Flossie must ensure all the souls in the cemetery stay at rest. This is a difficult job at the best of times for a twelve-year-old ghost, but it is World War II and each night enemy bombers hammer London. Even the dead are unsettled. When Flossie encounters the ghost of a German soldier carrying a mysterious object, she becomes suspicious. What is he up to? Before long, Flossie uncovers a sinister plot that could result in the destruction of not only her cemetery, but also her beloved country. Can Flossie stop him before it is too late?

"Allison Rushby cleverly weaves a supernatural plot into a page-turning mystery with a fresh historical perspective and a strong heroine at its centre. ★★★★"
Books+Publishing

The Turnkey is a great read for upper primary students. Read a sample chapter and classroom ideas.
Q&A with author Allison Rushby

Flossie's adventures in London and her mystical journeys into other countries are vividly described in The Turnkey. What kind of research did you do into the cemeteries of London and the other locations in the book?

I lived in Cambridge for a year not too long ago and was lucky enough to take many weekend trips to London. This definitely helped in getting the right feel for the setting of The Turnkey. I was able to draw upon my visits to several of the cemeteries mentioned in the book, as well as the fact that I'd visited the Churchill War Rooms, St Paul's and so on. I used a historical researcher for the finer research details (for example, were the cemeteries in question bombed during the Blitz? How badly?)

The world and lore of the ghosts in The Turnkey is richly imagined. Were you inspired or influenced by any other paranormal stories?

This will probably sound very strange indeed, but I don't see The Turnkey as a paranormal story. I know it falls squarely in this category, but to me it's a story of a girl who happens to be dead who is living a whole new life in the twilight world. Her world is just as real and vivid to her as her previous life in the land of the living. I found I was influenced more by my favourite books from childhood than by particular paranormal books. These included: Rumer Godden's The Doll House , Frances Hodgson Burnett's The Secret Garden, Joyce Lankester Brisley's Milly-Molly-Mandy series and Noel Streatfeild's Shoes series.

Continue reading on Walker Books Classroom
The sixth and final instalment in the internationally bestselling and award-winning Dragonkeeper series.

Tao and Kai's journey has been long and at last they have arrived at the Dragon Haven - but what they find is not the sanctuary Kai has described. Are they unwelcome? Will they be made to leave? It seems they will be forced straight back into the clutches of the murderous nomad leader Jilong, who is intent on vengeance. How can Tao keep Kai safe? Being a Dragonkeeper is so much more difficult than Tao could have imagined. But when things are at their worst, help can come from the most unexpected places. And the least powerful can become a mighty force. Perhaps there is a place for dragons in this world after all.

As a special treat for fans, Tao has compiled all of his Dragonkeeper knowledge into a volume called Regarding Dragons. You can find that and loads of extra content at the Dragonkeeper website.

Classroom ideas are also available.
Multi-award-winning, New York Times best-selling duo Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen conspire again on a slyly funny tale about some very sneaky shapes.

Meet Triangle. He is going to play a sneaky trick on his friend, Square. Or so Triangle thinks. . . . With this first tale in a new trilogy, partners in crime Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen (Sam and Dave Dig a Hole, Extra Yarn) will have readers wondering just who they can trust in a richly imagined world of shapes. Visually stunning and full of wry humor, here is a perfectly paced treat that could come only from the minds of two of today's most irreverent — and talented — picture book creators.


 
Win win win!

You could win one of three copies of Triangle by Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen PLUS a Triangle temporary tattoo and pin! All you need to do is answer a simple question - register your entry here!

Entries close 23 March.
Celebrate 30 years of searching for Wally in this one-off edition of the original eye-boggling classic!

A wonderful anniversary edition of the book that kick-started a global phenomenon 30 years ago and got the whole world asking Where's Wally? Read Wally's new letter to his fans celebrating three decades of being on the go! Search for Wally and his friends as they hike round the world - on the beach, at the train station, at sea ... and now find him on a new wander in town again! There's so much fiendish fun hidden in every intricately-detailed scene - each teeming with crowds, creatures and more. Wow! Have YOU found Wally yet?

To help celebrate 30 years of Where's Wally? Walker Books want you to throw a Wally party in your library! Check out the Where's Wally Library Activity Pack which is full of fun and educational activities for you and your students. You can also request a Where's Wally? library party pack from me which includes balloons, a large Wally standee, a huge poster, activity sheets and stickers! Packs are free but stock is limited so get in quick!
A powerful and brave New York Times bestselling YA novel about what prejudice looks like in the 21st century.

Sixteen-year-old Starr lives in two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend, Khalil, by a police officer. Now what Starr says could destroy her community. It could also get her killed.

Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, this is a powerful and gripping YA novel about one girl's struggle for justice. Movie rights have been sold to Fox, with Amandla Stenberg (The Hunger Games) to star.

"Angie Thomas has written a stunning, brilliant, gut-wrenching novel that will be remembered as a classic of our time."
John Green

"An inarguably important book that demands the widest possible readership."
Booklist (starred review)
From Mo Willems, the multi award-winning creator of the Pigeon series and the Knuffle Bunny trilogy, comes a hilarious new tongue-twister read-aloud about a little girl, Nanette, on a mission to buy a baguette. It's Nanette's very first solo trip to the bakery. But will Nanette get the baguette from baker Juliette? Or will Nanette soon be beset with regret? Set in a meticulously handcrafted-paper-modelled French village, the uniquely vibrant laugh-out-loud world of Nanette's Baguette may be Mo's best creation yet. Get set to "crack" into an irresistible tale you won't soon forget!

Check out a sample spread.

Early Childhood-Lower Primary
The extraordinary story of space exploration, from Galileo's telescope to the launch of the International Space Station - and beyond! With hours' worth of detail to pore over, this is the perfect book for all space enthusiasts, young or old.

Check out a sample spread

Mid-Upper Primary
A groundbreaking picture book, described by the National Autistic Society as "delightful ... full of positive messages", which explains Asperger's Syndrome in a simple, gentle and positive way to very young children. Meet Isaac. He's a superhero! He might look like everyone else, but he has a kind of autism called Asperger's. Inside this book he'll tell you all about what it's like to have his Asperger superpowers. 

View a sample spread.

Lower-Mid Primary
After battling monsters all night, a sleepy Princess in Black decides that she needs a vacation. After all, the Goat Avenger has offered to protect the goats while she's away. The very next day Princess Magnolia rides her bicycle to the seaside, where the air is salty, the sun is shiny, and the sea is as blue as monster fur. But just as Princess Magnolia is about to take a nap on her hammock, she hears a "ROAR!" Could a sea monster ruin this vacation for the Princess in Black?

Read a sample spread.

Lower-Mid Primary
In a stunning visual interpretation of a 12th century epic poem by Chrétien de Troyes, readers are – at first glance – transported into a classic Arthurian romance complete with errant knights, plundering giants, and fire-breathing dragons. A closer look, however, reveals a world rich with unspoken emotion. Renowned author M. T. Anderson embraces a new form with a sophisticated graphic novel that challenges Yvain's role as hero, delves into the honesty and anguish of love, and asks just how fundamentally the true self can really change.

Read a sample spread.

Secondary
A debut novel about a mixed-race family hit by tragedy in 90s Atlanta from a talented young writer.

For fans of David Levithan, Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell: a sweeping story about love and family from an exceptional new voice in YA. With a grandmother from China and another from Ghana, fifteen-year-old Wing Jones is often caught between worlds. But when tragedy strikes, Wing discovers a talent for running she never knew she had. Wing's speed could bring her family everything it needs. It could also stop Wing getting the one thing she wants.

Secondary
Download the March Newsletter Order Form
Facebook
Twitter
Walker Books Classroom
The Turnkey illustrations © 2017 Laura Peterson. All rights reserved.
Bronze Bird Tower illustrations © 2017 Sonia Kretschmar. All rights reserved.
Triangle illustrations © 2017 Jon Klassen. All rights reserved.
Where’s Wally? © 1987 – 2017 Martin Handford, published by Walker Books Ltd. All rights reserved

Copyright © 2017 Walker Books Australia, All rights reserved.


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list