View this email in your browser
Ohio Protects Self-Defense Capabilities, Honors Military Firearm Training

COLUMBUS—State Senator Joe Uecker (R-Miami Township) announced the recent passage of legislation allowing active-duty service members with the appropriate military firearm training to legally possess a concealed firearm in Ohio.

"This honors the extensive firearm instruction that our service men and women undergo during their military training," said Uecker. "Our brave military men and women who carry firearms in defense of our country should also be allowed to carry their handgun for personal defense while at home." 

Senator Uecker first proposed this correction to Ohio law following a situation involving a constituent who had served in the military but was barred from legally carrying a handgun as a civilian because he was too young to apply for a CCW permit. Senate Bill 199 offers the opportunity for any active member of the military to carry a concealed handgun following the completion of specified military training. Military personnel would still be required to comply with all Ohio concealed carry laws. 

Senate Bill 199 allows active-duty military personnel to carry concealed handguns if the member is carrying valid military identification and documentation indicating successful small arms qualifications, even if they do not have an Ohio concealed handgun license.

"Protection of our Second Amendment Rights must be take seriously, and my sponsorship of this legislation reflects the wishes of many of my constituents," said Senator Uecker. 

Amended language also clarifies existing law on the locations where legal possession of a concealed firearm by a CCW permit holders is permitted. 

Senate Bill 199 will now goes to the Governor to be signed into law.
# # #

Senator Uecker represents the 14th District in the Ohio Senate, which encompasses all of Adams, Brown, Clermont, and Scioto counties as well as a portion of Lawrence county. Learn more at For a high resolution photo of Senator Uecker, click here.

Release Date: Monday, December 12, 2016
Contact: Brittney Kneisel at (614) 466-8082 or
Clark Siddle
Senate Majority Communications
Phone: (614) 466-9009