School No. 1228
Newcomers and visitors to Sarsfield are often curious about the whereabouts and story behind the Sarsfield Primary School in School Road.
Sarsfield School No 1228 was established on the School Road site in June 1873. Over the next 120 years generations of young Sarsfieldians were educated as the school became the heart of the community. Stories of leaking bark roofs, whoppings with the cane, Education Department investigations, bushfires, a measles epidemic, schoolyard games of Hares and Hounds, euchre and dance nights, a rapid turnover of Headteachers, swimming lessons in the Nicho River, and prize winners at the Agricultural Show make up part of the amazing history of the school.
Further tales of boys emptying the toilet pans and lighting the open fire, daring and dangerous practical jokes, schoolyard pets and condemned buildings punctuate the rich history.
After years of fluctuating enrolments a rapid decline sadly saw the school close in 1993 with the buildings removed and the vacant block sold soon afterwards. Many present day Sarsfield residents have lasting memories of their association with School Number 1228.