2012 Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award Longlist Revealed

2012 marks the eighth year of the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award. The award, run in partnership with Asda and in association with the Daily Mirror, was created to celebrate the very best in crime writing and is open to British and Irish authors whose novels were published in paperback over the previous twelve months.

Crime writing’s most wanted accolade, the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award returns to highlight the cream of the crop of crime novels published by British and Irish authors over the last year.The winning author receives a cash prize of £3000 an a handmade, engraved beer barrel provided by Theakstons Old Peculier.

2012 Longlist

  • Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch (Gollancz)
  • Darkside by Belinda Bauer (Corgi)
  • Now You See Me by SJ Bolton (Corgi)
  • Where the Bodies Are Buried by Chris Brookmyre (Abacus)
  • The Burning Soul by John Connolly (Hodder Paperback)
  • The Calling by Neil Cross (Simon & Schuster)
  • The Hanging Shed by Gordon Ferris (Corvus)
  • Bryant and May and the Memory of Blood by Christopher Fowler (Bantam)
  • Blue Monday by Nicci French (Michael Joseph)
  • The Fear Index by Robert Harris (Arrow)
  • The Retribution by Val McDermid (Sphere)
  • The End of the Wasp Season by Denise Mina (Orion)
  • Black Flowers by Steve Mosby (Orion)
  • Collusion by Stuart Neville (Vintage)
  • The Impossible Dead by Ian Rankin (Orion)
  • Mice by Gordon Reece (Pan Books)
  • Agent 6 by Tom Rob Smith (Simon & Schuster)
  • Before I Go To Sleep by SJ Watson (Black Swan)

2012 Shortlist Announcement and Readers’ Online Vote

The names of the six shortlisted titles will be announced on Thursday 5 July 2012 and YOU – the readers – will be able to help decide which of the six short-listed authors will take home the most coveted title in crime fiction, by casting your vote online at

The result of the online vote will be counted alongside the votes of the expert judging panel in order to determine the 2012 winner.

The Judges

Forming the 2012 judging panel are acclaimed BAFTA-nominated actor David Morrissey, Festival Chair and previous two-time award winner Mark Billingham, Daily Mirror Books Editor Henry Sutton, Asda Fiction Buyer Ruth Lewis and executive director of title sponsor T&R Theakston Simon Theakston.

Nationwide crime spree hits Asda!

The six shortlisted books will be available to buy in participating Asda stores nationwide from 5 July – 2 August. The nominees will be on special offer, so look out for Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year stickers and grab a selection of the very best whodunits at criminally low prices.

Title Sponsor

Regular Supporters


Premier Partners

Win a Festival Weekend Break Package

Pick up a copy of today's Daily Mirror for full details on how to enter

To celebrate the announcement of the books in the running for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award, the Daily Mirror and the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival, Harrogate are running an exclusive competition.

For full details on the competition prize and how to enter get your copy of today's Daily Mirror (Friday 18 May) where all will be revealed!  

Don’t miss your chance to win!

For full competition terms and conditions click here.
Copyright © 2012 Harrogate International Festivals, All rights reserved.

Harrogate International Festivals is a registered charity. Charity No. 244861