Awarding the best fiction writers in Canada
View this email in your browser
The $50,000 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize celebrates the year’s best Canadian novel or short story collection. Each finalist receives $5,000. The 2019 winner will be announced at the Writers’ Trust Awards ceremony on Tuesday, November 5.

Congratulations to the 2019 finalists:
André Alexis

Days by Moonlight
Published by Coach House Books
"With the dream-like touch of a magical realist, Alexis carries us away on a profound and hilarious drive through small-town Ontario as it’s never been seen before. Days by Moonlight is a funny, moving, and wholly original take on the quest narrative that liberates the imagination with a loud whoop of joy."
Sharon Butala

Season of Fury and Wonder

Published by Coteau Books
"The protagonists in these stories do not just rage against the dying of the light; they grab it by the throat, forcing the reader to confront uncomfortable and revelatory truth concerning what it is to age in a female body. Season of Fury and Wonder is poetic, flawless, and unflinching. "
Michael Crummey

The Innocents

Published by Doubleday Canada
"In this cruel and beautiful adventure tale and meditation on survival, solitude, and adolescent desire, The Innocents lays bare the lives of two children orphaned in a desolate cove on Newfoundland’s northern coast. This novel is a page-turning masterclass in landscape writing and the longings and sorrows of the human heart."
Téa Mutonji

Shut Up You’re Pretty

Published by Arsenal Pulp Press
"In writing marked by bursts of intense language, Mutonji takes the reader into her nuanced study of a young Congolese immigrant, always refusing to look away from pain and uncertainty. Driven by its crisp, unsettling dialogue and meticulous psychological detail, this is a compelling work about the fear and yearning of our youth."
Alix Ohlin

Dual Citizens

Published by House of Anansi Press
"Ohlin’s quicksilver-prose and brilliant characterization at once seize and pull the reader into the wide-ranging and complex world of half-sisters Robin and Lark as they struggle with questions of identity, the slow burn of mental illness, and the need to leave your mark on the world."
Read more about the finalists
About the Jury
The finalists were selected by a jury composed of authors Dennis Bock, Michael Kaan, and Suzette Mayr. They read 131 books submitted by 62 publishers.

About the Prize
The Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize recognizes Canadian writers of exceptional talent for the year’s best novel or short story collection as selected by a three-member, independent judging panel.

The prize has been sponsored by Rogers Communications Inc. since its inception in 1997. Past prizewinners include: Austin Clarke (1997), Alice Munro (2004), Lawrence Hill (2007), Miriam Toews (2008 and 2014), Emma Donoghue (2010), André Alexis (2015), Yasuko Thanh (2016), David Chariandy (2017), and Kathy Page (2018). 
Post Post
Tweet Tweet
Forward Forward