Copy
View this email in your browser

Divest Canada Newsletter - March 2022

DIVESTMENT ANNOUNCEMENTS

UOttawa Divests!

On Feb 17th, the University of Ottawa committed to divest all its direct equity fossil fuel holdings by 2023 and all indirect holdings by 2030, becoming the 11th Canadian university to commit to divestment. This would not have happened without the hard work of the students of Climate Justice Climatique UOttawa as well as the earlier generation of student organizers with Fossil Free UOttawa. Congrats to everyone who played a part in this huge victory! Read the full CJCUO statement here and UOttawa’s statement here.

Western Student Union Divests!

On Feb 3rd, Western’s student union, the University Students’ Council announced it had voted to divest from fossil fuels by 2025! This is a huge step in building pressure for the University to do the same.
BIWEEKLY TRAININGS

We have THREE more amazing trainings coming up this semester. Join us to hear from experienced student organizers about their successes and lessons learned building power for divestment. All are welcome!

March 13th, 2-3:30pm Eastern Time: Coalition Building On Campus by Fossil Free UW, Divest McGill and the Climate Justice League (UOregon). Register here.

March 27th, 2-3:30pm Eastern Time: Working with Student Unions by Divest Acadia, UAlberta Students Union, SFU350 and Divest Ed. Register here.

April 10th, 2-3:30pm Eastern Time: Team Culture & Community Care by Divest Ed. Register here.

CAMPAIGN UPDATES

Divest Dal Campout

On Feb 15th, Divest Dal hosted an all day campout in the snow. Congrats to the team on their huge success with this action and for their tenacity and resilience in keeping the fight alive. Students at Dal have been working at this since 2013, and we are very excited to keep following the latest generation of the campaign.

New report on Greenwashing by the Big Banks

Greenpeace and Banking on a Better Future just dropped a mind-blowing report entitled Money can’t buy our love: Fossil Fuels, Climate-concerned Youth and Reputational Risk in Canadian Banking. The report details how Canadian banks target youth through their corporate sponsorship and charitable programs. Check it out here.

With a pandemic stunting a student-led divestment movement, Ryerson holds firm on $8.9-million investment in fossil fuelsHear from our coordination team member and UofT divestment campaigner Evelyn Austin on why X University (Ryerson) needs to divest. As Evelyn says, it is hypocritical for the university to decolonize its namesake and still invest in fossil fuels. When will X University divest?
UPCOMING TRAININGS AND EVENTS

 

Collaborative Strategy Workshop - Wednesday, March 2, 3 p.m. PST/ 4 p.m. MST/ 5 p.m. CST/ 6 p.m. EST/ 7 p.m. AST (Register here)

The goal of this workshop is to equip participants with frameworks and decision-making tools that help guide groups collaboratively towards creating solid strategies. This is not just a primer on the principles of solid strategy (though it does cover that) but a session for group facilitators that helps them guide their own groups towards finding a balance between the desire for collaborative decision-making with the need to focus and narrow down to create a solid strategy.

Movement Relations: Teatime with Amara Possian - Monday, March 7, 4 p.m. PST/ 5 p.m. MST/ 6 p.m. CST/ 7 p.m. EST/ 8 p.m. AST (Register here)

Amara (she/her) is a campaigner, educator, and facilitator who cut her teeth as an organizer in the youth climate movement. She has 10+ years of experience helping groups run winning campaigns and build thriving organizations. Looking at the past decade, Amara will share some wins, lessons, and reflections on shifts in the climate justice movement, to shape our discussion about building the movement we need.

 

Banking on a Better Future New Organizers Call - March 3rd at 6pm EST/3pm PST

Calling all youth looking to get involved in a national network of organizers building power to challenge our financial systems and pressure our banks to stop funding climate chaos -- join us on Thursday, March 3rd to learn how you can get involved. No prior experience is necessary, and people from all parts of so-called Canada are encouraged to join.

Learn more about how you can get involved as an individual, or get connected to a local organizing group. We'll discuss our timeline for 2022 -- beginning with our lead-up to banks' Annual General Meeting (AGM) season in April! Register here

TAKE ACTION

 

Demand that the bankers of the Coastal Gaslink pipeline respect Indigenous rights and divest.

On February 9, over 150 non-governmental organizations (NGOs) representing millions of members released a letter to the 27 banks financing the Coastal GasLink pipeline, calling on the banks to divest and withdraw all financial support for this project on human rights, environmental, and climate grounds. Sign now to join the call.

Call on the CPP to Divest from Fossil Fuels

The Canadian Pension Plan recently announced a net-zero by 2050 greenhouse gas emissions target, but they still have not committed to divestment. Send a letter to call on CPP to divest!

HELP WANTED

Divest Canada is currently looking for volunteers to help with social media, podcast, newsletters and more. Please respond to this email or fill out our intake form if you are interested in getting involved.

 

Want your event or call to action featured in our next newsletter? Email us.

Connect 📱

Twitter
Facebook
Website
Instagram
Copyright © 2022 Divest Canada Coalition, All rights reserved.


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp