Is this email not displaying correctly?
View it in your browser
An Extraordinary Night to Honor Extraordinary Women in Contra Costa County
The Contra Costa Commission for Women was very proud to host its 11th Bi-annual Hall of Fame Awards Dinner on March 22, 2012, at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Concord. The Hall of Fame dinner takes place in March to coincide with the celebration of Women’s History Month. This special event was established by the Contra Costa Board of Supervisors in October 1997, under the sponsorship of then-Supervisor Mark DeSaulnier and the Women’s Advisory Committee, now known as the Contra Costa Commission for Women.

Guests were honored by the presence of three women who joined in the celebration:

·         Award-winning journalist and CBS 5 Eyewitness News anchor, Ann Notarangelo, who served as the evening’s emcee
·         Board of Equalization Member, Betty T. Yee, who served as the evening’s keynote speaker
·         Betty Dukes, the lead plaintiff in the largest class action civil rights case in America's history, Dukes v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., who was the evening’s Honorary Chair.
 The Women’s Hall of Fame acknowledges those exceptional, multifaceted women who have enhanced life in Contra Costa County through their careers and community activities. Any woman residing or working in Contra Costa County may be nominated. This year’s honorees were:

Women Contributing to the Arts – Sheri Stockdale
Women Creating Community – Mayra Padilla
Women Preserving the Environment – Christina Nystroem Batt
Women Demonstrating Leadership – Sisleide do Amor Lima and Ellen Osmundson
Women Innovating in Science/Technology – Victoria Acquistapace
Women Working for Justice - Rhonda James
Women Improving Health Care - Cindy Gershen
A big thank-you to our sponsors and donors who helped to make this special evening possible:

San Pablo Lytton Casino Foundation/Pomo Indians
ConocoPhillips San Francisco Refinery
Prudential California Realtors
John Muir Women’s Health Center
Assembly Member Joan Buchanan
City of San Pablo
Contra Costa Community College District
Lee Hecht Harrison
Dow Chemical
IBEW Local 302

American Association of University Women
Assemblymember Susan Bonilla
Concord Soroptomists
Contra Costa Building & Construction Trades Council
Democratic Party of Contra Costa
Senator Mark DeSaulnier
Congressman John Garamendi
Supervisor Federal Glover
Congressman George Miller
Supervisor Karne Mitchoff
Supervisor Mary Nejedly Piepho
Planned Parenthood
Soroptomist International of Pittsburg
Trico PIPE - Plumbers & Steamfitters Local 159

Rosanne Lazio and Mary Kemp - Table Decorations
Charlotte Standefer, M.D. – Corsages

The Commission’s next bi-annual Hall of Fame will be held in March 2014. Stay tuned for more details here:


The Contra Costa Commission for Women has been active in bringing attention to the topic of bullying in schools.  The film BULLY shines additional light on the subject as it follows five kids and their families over the course of a school year.  The film is being shown locally.
The Contra Costa Commission for Women (the CCCW) was formed to educate the community and advise the Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors and other entities as necessary on issues relating to the changing social and economic conditions of women in the County, with particular emphasis on the economically disadvantaged. The CCCW’s mission is, “to improve the economic status, social welfare, and overall quality of life for women in Contra Costa County.”

Meetings are held monthly, generally on the third Tuesday of the month at 6:30 pm at the Contra Costa Water District Building, 1331 Concord Ave., Concord, California. The public is invited to attend the meetings.

For more information, visit our website,

Carlyn Obringer
Karen Peterson
Vice Chair
Erin Beable

Marie McDonald
Cecilia Valdez
District I
District II
Dana Wellington
District III
Carlyn Obringer
District IV
Argentina Davila-Luevano
District V
At-Large Members
Erin Beable
Joan Conley
Nimfa Gamez
Nati Gomez
Phyllis Gordon
Julianna Hynes
Marie McDonald
Karen Peterson
Kerri Ryer

Our mailing address is:
P.O. Box 6695
Concord, CA 94520