Copy
February and March Courses and Events Newsletter
Email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.
Like us on Facebook    Follow us on Twitter
Sarum College Courses & Events Newsletter
February & March 2016  |  01722 424800  |  courses@sarum.ac.uk

Featured Courses

2016 Sarum Lectures with Nicholas Holtam
Pilgrimage Weekend in Salisbury Cookham
Pilgrimage Weekend in Salisbury and Cookham
Prepare for Holy Week with a weekend of prayer, pilgrimage, art and worship. This weekend includes an an excursion to Cookham, Spencer’s Thames-side ‘village in Heaven’ to walk the two miles of the 2016 Cookham Stations of the Cross. Friday 18 to Sunday 20 March
Holy Week at Sarum 2016
Holy Week at Sarum 2016 - Reconciliation: The Journey to the Cross
Days which may form the basis of a retreat or taken individually for personal reflection. The programme is designed to encourage three levels of reflection through the lens of reconciliation. Monday 21 to Thursday 24 March

Christian Spirituality

Pastoral Ministry and Christian Spiritual Direction
Pastoral Ministry and Christian Spiritual Direction
Explore the nature of Christian ministry and address some of the central issues in pastoral ministry such as faith development, ageing, death and dying. Monday 29 February to Thursday 3 March
Day of Spiritual Reflection: A Lenten Pause
Day of Spiritual Reflection: A Lenten Pause
Our journey through Lent is a journey towards the Cross. Where has it led you so far? Where is there left to travel? Friday 4 March

Theology and Culture

Biblical Study Break: Ruth
Biblical Study Break: Ruth
In a close reading of this ancient Hebrew text we not only encounter history, geography, culture, literature and art but also passion, cruelty, theology and ethics. Monday 8 to Thursday 11 February
Theology Quest and Questions
Theology Quest and Questions
Each Gospel resonates with a sense, not simply of ‘this was Jesus’ but something more powerful: ‘this is Jesus for us’. This term will be devoted above all to the ‘this was Jesus’ theme.
•  Pondering the Parables Tuesday 9 February
•  Following in the Footsteps of Moses? Jesus and the Law Tuesday 16 February
•  Holy People and Holy Place: Jesus & the Jerusalem Temple Tuesday 23 February
•  Can This Be the Son of God? Tuesday 1 March
•  Why Did Jesus Die? Tuesday 8 March

Leadership and Ministry

Personal Development
Personal Development
A review of contemporary management strategies for using feedback to develop and evaluate personal development plans in a variety of faith-based and secular contexts. Monday 22 to Thursday 25 February

Liturgy and Worship

The Eucharist
The Eucharist
Explore the most significant developments of Eucharistic worship from the New Testament to the contemporary church. Monday 29 February to Thursday 3 March

Ministry & Mission Study Days

An opportunity to sit alongside our ordination and licensed lay ministry candidates to share in their undergraduate learning. Ideal as a refresher, to stimulate new thinking, or to get a flavour of ordained and lay training at Sarum College. 
•  Introduction to Christian Doctrine and History Sat 6 February
•  Christian Faith and Ethical Living Sat 27 February

The Arts

Clare Deniz (cello) & Rose Andresier (guitar)
Lunchtime Concerts

Clare Deniz (cello) & Rose Andresier (guitar)
Programme includes Vivaldi, Couperin, Albéniz, Sarasate and Piazzolla. Friday 26 February
An-Ting Chang (piano)
Programme includes Prokofiev ‘Romeo & Juliet’ and Mozart. Friday 18 March
Parish Churches of Wessex
Parish Churches of Wessex [sold out]
Series of six, fully illustrated evening lectures reveal and explain some of the intricate qualities of the region’s churches. Join the waiting list. Begins Thursday 11 February
The Annunciation as Portrayed in Art
The Annunciation as Portrayed in Art [sold out]
This year the Feast Day of the Annunciation falls on the same day as Good Friday. This convergence can lead us to reflect on the relationship between these two dates and events. Join the waiting listFriday 11 March

Bookshop & Library

From Venice to Istanbul: An Evening with Harry Bucknall
An evening talk based on In the Dolphin’s Wake, which tells the tale of his incredible 5,500 mile journey. Friday 12 February at 6.30pm, tickets £3.
Unfurling: Poems of Life, Love and Faith with Ian Adams
Themes of spirituality, culture and human-being within the natural world from the perspective of a poet, writer and artist. Friday 4 March at 6.30pm, tickets £3 (£4 on the door).
An Evening of Lenten Reflection with Meg Warner
An Evening of Lenten Reflection with Meg Warner
Led by the author of Abraham: A Journey Through Lent
Wednesday 16 March at 6.30pm, free entry.

Reserve all tickets in advance from Sarum College Bookshop

Looking Ahead

•  Home Course with Ron Bushyager Begins Thurs 7 to Fri 8 April
•  Exploring the Medieval Close Thurs 14 April
•  Singing with Confidence 2016 Sat 16 to Sun 17 April
•  How Christianity Spread Round the Mediterranean Thurs 28 April
•  Introduction to English Mystics Wed 4 May
•  Singing the Faith: The Power and Potential of Hymns Fri 6 May
•  Promises & Problems: The Bible and the Holy Land Today Mon 9 to Thurs 12 May
•  Contemplating the Divine: Art in the Medieval World Thurs 12 to Fri 13 May
•  2016 Liminal Leadership Conference Mon 16 to Thurs 19 May
•  Day of Spiritual Reflection: Summertime and New Life Fri 20 May
•  Open Learning for Theology, Ministry and Mission Conference Fri 3 June
•  Contemplation and Photography Sat 11 to Sun 12 June
•  What Makes Worship Distinctly Anglican? Tues 14 June
•  Mission, Megatrends and the Future of the Church Mon 27 to Wed 29 June
•  New Testament Greek in a Week Mon 25 to Sat 30 July
Postgraduate Study Taster Days at Sarum College

Postgraduate Study Taster Days at Sarum College


Saturday 12 March, Saturday 11 June and Saturday 10 September 2016

Book your free place online »

Ways to Book

Email courses@sarum.ac.uk
Phone 01722 424800
Visit www.sarum.ac.uk
Download and post a booking form
Visit us at 19 The Close, Salisbury
Like us on Facebook    Follow us on Twitter    Sarum College on LinkedIn    Sarum College on Flickr    Follow us on Pinterest    Sarum College on Vimeo    Sarum College on YouTube    Forward to a Friend  

 
Copyright © 2016 Sarum College, All rights reserved.
You are subscribed to our monthly courses and events newsletter.
Our mailing address is:
Sarum College
19 The Close
Salisbury, England SP1 2EE
United Kingdom

Add us to your address book
Forward this email to a friend
Sarum College is an incorporated charity in England and Wales (1161253) and receives no regular subsidies from church or government bodies. Click here to find out more about how you can support us.