FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: April 19, 2011                        
MORE INFORMATION: Brian McClung: 651-717-4182,

Suburban cities launch campaign
Coalition wants legislators and citizens to know Twin Cities metro area homeowners have a larger property tax burden than those in Greater Minnesota

Saint Paul — A coalition of 16 Twin Cities suburban communities today launched an educational campaign to highlight the property tax disparities that exist between homeowners in different parts of Minnesota.

The campaign from the Municipal Legislative Commission (MLC) focuses on information about Minnesota’s property tax system highlighted in the Residential Homestead Property Tax Burden Report issued earlier this year by the Department of Revenue.  That report showed property tax burdens in the Twin Cities metropolitan area are more onerous than in Greater Minnesota for homeowners with the same income.

Citizens and legislators are asked to visit to learn more about the issue. 

The Revenue Department’s report says Twin Cities metro area homeowners paid a 39% higher share of their income to property taxes than their Greater Minnesota counterparts.  This is a comparison of homeowners that have the same income whether they live in the metro area or Greater Minnesota.

“The legislature is likely to make changes to property tax relief programs such as local government aid and market value credit,” said Eagan Mayor Mike Maguire, chair of the MLC Board of Directors.  “We want to remind legislators that suburban homeowners are already paying a larger share of their incomes to property taxes than a homeowner with the same income in Greater Minnesota. Any changes should make the system more equitable.”

About the Municipal Legislative Commission:
MLC represents 16 suburban communities, including more than 834,000 residents and more than 529,000 employees.  These communities face similar challenges associated with development and maintenance of public infrastructure, and increasing demand from residents and businesses for effective public services.  The 16 communities that make up MLC are: Apple Valley, Bloomington, Burnsville, Eagan, Eden Prairie, Edina, Inver Grove Heights, Lakeville, Maple Grove, Maplewood, Minnetonka, Plymouth, Savage, Shakopee, Shoreview, and Woodbury.

Copyright © 2011 *|LIST:COMPANY|*, All rights reserved.
Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp